Toothless Face
Crafts, DIY Gifts, DIY Projects, Painting

Toothless Painting

MRY_0622 (3)

I have some painting inspiration for you today, with a Toothless painting that I made last summer.

For those of you who are not familiar with Toothless, he is one of the main characters in a 2010 film by DreamWorks, entitled How to Train Your Dragon. This movie is one of my absolute favourites, featuring the adventures of a young Viking and his best friend, Toothless the dragon. It’s a heartwarming adventure with superb animations and a thrilling soundtrack. If you haven’t seen this movie, I would definitely recommend watching it tonight!

Anyway, you can probably tell that I am fond of Toothless. Being a cartoon character, I thought I’d try my hand at painting him, and, while I in no way claim to be an amazing artist, I’d say he turned out pretty good!MRY_0622 (2)

For the background I used a shade of my favourite colour, teal. I used Ocean Breeze by craftsmart. Such a pretty shade, I am sure you will see it turning up again in future projects!

Ocean_Breeze

To create the background, I painted the edges in teal, applying strokes toward the middle of the canvas. I then used white, and while the teal was still wet, make small strokes from the center of the canvas to the edge. I repeated this process with these two colours until I had achieved my desired effect. I did all of this before the paint could dry, so the new layers blended right in with the old ones.MRY_0654 (2)

Once satisfied with the background I drew a quick sketch of Toothless in pencil, paying close attention to his outline. I then carefully traced the lines in black, sectioning off this part of the canvas. Once that was done the fun begins! Working from the outside in, Toothless slowly began to form.

I did his ears and torso first, blending shades of grey into the black until achieving the desired effect. The light grey accents I added at the very end, as I was finishing his face.

I especially had fun with his head. It was tricky to get the scales right, but I’m happy with the final result. I made little incomplete rectangles in a light grey to give the illusion of light striking a black scale. I admit it looks a little funny from up close, but I think it adds some character to him.

 

 

And of course a signature. I’ve really got to get better at signing canvases, I never know how to do it properly. I signed Toothless with my simple initials, nothing fancy. I’ll be sure to do a fancier signature for my next piece.

MRY_0629 (2)

And there he is! Hope you enjoyed my little painting. I can’t wait to see what he looks like up on the wall.

MRY_0622 (3)

Keep Crafting

~Mary

6 thoughts on “Toothless Painting”

Leave a Reply

